The Kaua‘i Island Utility Cooperative (KIUC) Nominating Committee has confirmed 11 candidates for its Board of Directors election on March 8, 2014.

Seven candidates, Adam Asquith, Neal Chantara, Daniel Erickson, DQ Jackson, Jonathan “JJ” Jay, Charles “Chuck” Lasker, and James “Jimmy” Trujillo submitted petitions containing the signatures of at least 35 members of the cooperative. Candidate Stewart V. Burley and incumbent directors David Iha, Teofilo “Phil” Tacbian and Peter Yukimura were nominated by the Nominating Committee, which is comprised of community members appointed by the KIUC board.

The 11 candidates are running for three seats on the Board of Directors.

A director is one of nine elected representatives of the members of KIUC. The Board of Directors governs the business of KIUC and sets the strategic direction and policies of the cooperative.

Members should look for their election packets in the mail at the beginning of February. Members can vote by paper ballot, phone or online. If you have any questions or would like additional information please go to or call 246.4383.

The Wailua-Kapaʻa Neighborhood Association, in partnership with Apollo Kauaʻi, are hosting a “Meet the KIUC Candidates Forum” on Saturday, January 25, 2014 from 2 to 4 p.m. at the Kapaʻa Library Meeting Room.