Karen Baldwin, Dennis Esaki and Patrick Gegen have been elected to Kaua‘i Island Utility Cooperative’s (KIUC) Board of Directors. These three directors will each serve for a 3-year term ending March 2018.

The official results of the 2015 Board of Directors Election are as follows:

1Dennis M. Esaki3,602
2Karen Baldwin 2,582
3Patrick Gegen1,849
4Jan Kimura1,707
5Harold J. Dias, Jr. 1,619
6Stewart “Stu” V. Burley1,306
7Dennis James Rowley 1,209
8William D. Peterson1,098

Baldwin and Gegen are incumbent members of the board, having first been elected in 2012. Esaki is a former chairman of the KIUC board and is also a founding board member of the cooperative.

KIUC mailed 25,309 ballots and received 5,572 between Feb. 19 and March 14, a turnout of 21.92 percent. While there were three available director slots to fill, not all members chose to exercise all three votes on their ballot; therefore, the number of votes may not equal the total number of ballots received.

The election was conducted by Merriman River Group, a California-based election management firm.

The newly-elected board members will be inaugurated on March 24 at 11 a.m. in the main conference room at the KIUC office. The board will hold its regularly-scheduled meeting at 12:30 p.m.