Derek and Monica Kawakami at an event at the Kaua‘i Marriott in February.

The public is invited to attend the inauguration of Mayor-Elect Derek Kawakami and the Kaua‘i Councilmembers-Elect, scheduled for Monday, Dec. 3. The event will be held at the Kaua‘i War Memorial Convention Hall starting at 1 p.m., according to a county news release.

Prior to the inaugural ceremony, the members of the new Kaua‘i County Council-Elect — Arthur Brun, Mason Chock, Felicia Cowden, Luke Evslin, Ross Kagawa, Arryl Kaneshiro and KipuKai Kuali‘i — will hold their first meeting at 12 p.m. at the same venue in the large meeting room.

Mayor-Elect Kawakami has announced the following incoming members of his cabinet:

Managing Director Michael A. Dahilig, Chief of Staff Sarah K. Blane, CIP Manager Wade Lord, Finance Director Reiko Matsuyama, Deputy Finance Director Michelle Lizama, Deputy County Engineer Lyle Tabata, Director of Parks and Recreation Patrick Porter, Deputy Director of Parks and Recreation Wallace G. Rezentes Jr., Director of Economic Development Robbie Melton, Housing Director Kanani Fu, and Transportation Director Celia Mahikoa.

Mayor-Elect Kawakami has nominated Matthew Bracken as the incoming County Attorney, subject to Kaua‘i County Council confirmation.

Commission-appointed cabinet members include:

Acting Director of Human Resources Janine Rapozo, Director of Liquor Control Gerald Rapozo, Director of Planning Ka‘āina Hull, Deputy Director of Planning Jodi Higuchi Sayegusa, Agency on Elderly Affairs Executive Kealoha Takahashi, Fire Chief Robert Westerman, Deputy Fire Chief Kilipaki Vaughan, Acting Chief of Police Michael Contrades, and Department of Water Manager and Chief Engineer Bryan Wienand.

To accommodate the public, additional parking for the ceremony will be available at Vidinha Stadium where a Kaua‘i Bus shuttle will run to KWMCH and back, during the following times. At Vidinha Stadium, the Kaua‘i Bus shuttle will meet riders near the south entrance of the stadium’s parking lot. At KWMCH, the Kaua‘i Bus shuttle will meet riders in a designated area along Hardy Street, fronting the facility.

Shuttle from Vidinha Stadium to KWMCH: 11:30 a.m. (first shuttle), 11:45 a.m., 12 p.m., 12:15 p.m., and 12:30 p.m. (last shuttle)

Shuttle from KWMCH to Vidinha Stadium: 2 p.m. (first shuttle), 2:15 p.m.,  2:30 p.m., 2:45 p.m., and 3 p.m. (last shuttle)

All motorists are advised of possible traffic delays along Hardy Street and Umi Street, in Līhu‘e, while the event is taking place. Motorists should drive with caution and use alternate routes if possible.

The Inauguration Ceremony and County Council Meeting will air on Hō‘ike, channel 53, the day after the event, for two weeks.

The events will also be available for viewing on, starting Tuesday afternoon.

To request an ASL interpreter, materials in an alternate format, or other auxiliary aid support, or an interpreter for a language other than English, contact Linda Nuland at 241-4924 before the event.