Layout 1With a 28.5 percent ballot-turnout, Kaua‘i Island Utility Cooperative members voted all three incumbents back into the co-op’s board of directors.

Peter Yukimura, David Iha and Teofilo “Phil” Tacbian came in first, second and third, respectively, among a field of 11 candidates, according to a KIUC press release Saturday. The three directors will return to the board to serve another three-year term.

Peter Yukimura


KIUC is governed by a board of nine directors elected by co-op members.

All directors are elected at-large, and serve staggered three-year terms. Each year in March, three seats are up for election.

In March 2015, the seats occupied by Pat Gegen, Karen Baldwin and Calvin Murashige will be up for election, and in the following year, the seats occupied by Chair Allan Smith, Vice-Chair Jan TenBruggencate and Carol Bain will be up for reelection.

The directors are not involved in daily operations, but are responsible for setting policies, hiring the CEO and leading the development of the strategic plan in consultation with senior management, according to KIUC.

David Iha


Candidates are placed on the ballot by KIUC’s nominating committee, or by a petition signed by 35 KIUC members in good standing.

For this year’s election, KIUC mailed 25,309 ballots and received 7,227 between Feb. 7 and March 8, according to KIUC spokesman Jim Kelly. He said the 28.5 voter turnout is higher than last year’s election, when 23 percent of members cast their votes.

While there were three available director slots to fill, not all voters chose to exercise all three votes on their ballot, according to KIUC. Therefore, the number of votes may not equal the total number of ballots received.

Votes were counted by the Connecticut-based Merriman River Group, which announced the official results Saturday afternoon.

Teofilo Tacbian


The newly elected board members will be inaugurated March 25 at 11 a.m. in the KIUC Main Conference Room, 4463 Pahe‘e Street in Līhu‘e.

The official results are as follows:

1. Peter Yukimura — 3,590

2. David Iha — 3,502

3. Teofilo “Phil” Tacbian — 2,971

4. Adam Asquith — 1,672

5. Stu Burley — 1,475

6. Daniel Erickson — 1,450

7. Jonathan Jay — 1,140

8. Neal Chantara — 1,136

9. Jimmy Trujillo — 1,036

10. Chuck Lasker — 934

11. DQ Jackson — 848